“Better than a free cup of coffee”

Can you imagine what Jesus may have been thinking at this time almost 2,000 years ago?

Knowing that in a few days He would be abandoned, betrayed and denied by those who He was closest to here.

That He would have to endure pain and punishment reserved for the most vile criminals of the day. That He would be mocked, laughed at and scorned by some of the same people that were praising Him just days before.

Taking in each minute, anticipating the weight of every sin, from every man and woman that would ever accept Him.

Knowing what He knew and still being able to get up in the morning.

Have you thought about that? The measure of courage, strength and love that it took for Him to keep moving forward. Knowing that each step was not taking Him anywhere but straight to the cross.

. . . I lay down my life—only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again.  . . . — John 10:17-18 NIV

This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us . . .
— 1 John 3:16 NIV

As we approach the coming Easter weekend, let us take some time to think about all this. Let’s remember our own part in His sacrifice. Then remember how His willful nature to endure through everything I have mentioned, was done in an unyielding, victorious love.

And since Good Friday happens to be sharing “Earth Day” this year, let us honor our Lord by revealing the true meaning of an “earth day.”  Tell people what a great opportunity they have to really celebrate this “Earth Day” because it’s on the same day that its Creator: Jesus Christ gave Himself up for all His creation in hopes of saving them from righteous judgment and the gates of Hell. Let’s take the time to share with them the gift of Salvation and teaching them of its cost. Making sure that they know that it is available for everyone and anyone on this planet “Earth”.

Now that’s better than a “free cup of coffee.”


This entry was posted in He loved first. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Better than a free cup of coffee”

  1. Michael Fox says:

    A conviction I am reminded of is that Jesus was betrayed not by enemies, not even friends, but those who were closer than family and yet justice was never his concern. It gives me pause to consider how quickly I will be irritated or frustrated without first considering that I am to love others as Christ loved me – I am one of those family memebers that betrayed him.

  2. Gary says:

    I love the blog post. Thank you Jesus for your example. I saw this online and thought I would share in the comments here. By David Harsha 1856
    “The love of Christ is like a great ocean, whose depths are unfathomable. There is a height in this love, to which no human intelligence can soar; a depth which no created mind can penetrate. In viewing the love of Christ, there lies a wide unbounded prospect before us. The mental vision wanders at liberty over this illimitable range. The love of Christ is circumscribed by no limits; it is bounded by no horizon: it is one vast expanse in which the soul may lose itself in wonder, delight, and admiration.”

  3. Al Doyle says:

    Thanks for the great reminder. And even more, those betrayals going through His thoughts included a forward knowledge of 2000+ years of betrayals and are continuing today, by all of us in some way.

    I like the Earth Day reminder. It’s time we honor the Father’s Creation by taking better care if it (starting with each other).

  4. Thanks for reminding all of us just what Jesus endured for us. One thing that really boggles my mind is that I often remember how I felt before I was a Christian–how my sins had weighed me down and how I felt before I gave them all to Him and accepted Him as my Savior. Just think how Jesus must have felt when He took upon Himself the sins of the whole world. I can’t even imagine the agony He must have suffered–all for us! We are where we are in Him because of what He endured on Good Friday and then because He rose again on that first Easter. Praise the Lord! Hosanna!

Leave a Reply

