Good pain

Last night during devotional time with my family, my youngest son broke down. All it took, all it ever takes is the gentle reminder of Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross and the thought of someone he loves dying for him.

As a Father I feel the conflict of both pride and pain when my children have these realizations. Pride, as I know that they have love for the same man I do, Jesus. But I also get a sense of hope as they realize that He is more than just a man in a story, but know Him to be someone close, someone they love. That He is family.

That is why I am proud.

And this is why I feel pain:

Someday they will understand better why Jesus had to die for us. For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. — Romans 3:23 (NIV).  That the cost for our failures as human beings, our sins, was His death. That He did so, willingly and wantingly.

The Lord Jesus Christ . . . who gave himself for our sins to rescue us from the present evil age, — Galatians 1:4 (NIV)

Did you see the “The Passion”? Do you remember how bad you cried when you watched Jesus being tortured? I was bawling, I could barely watch the screen. Every time I saw Jesus being lashed at with that whip, I knew that was my own sin that caused Him to endure this suffering. Each time someone spat at Him, mocked Him and insulted Him was all because of me. With each stroke of the hammer, I cried knowing that although I had not struck Him, I had provided the blows.

I did this to someone I love . . . who loves me.

It would be the same feeling seeing the closest person you love have to go through the worst torture, only to be killed because you are no good. Take a moment to imagine your: wife, husband, mother, father, brother, sister, children, anyone you truly love doing this for you.  How does that make you feel?

These realizations we have concerning the cross are probably the most true feelings of remorse, regret and shame we can have as human beings. It is a pain that never really leaves: the reminder of my sin and the cost for all that I have done.

Last night my son cried because he hated hearing about Jesus dying. My son will cry again as someday he will understand why.

This entry was posted in He loved first. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good pain

  1. Bonnie says:

    Thank you Jeff for the wonderful blog, sorry it took so long to comment. I hope my children will someday cry knowing Jesus died for them too.

    We will write more later, on our way to church… Bonnie

  2. Cheryl says:

    Keep writing, Jeffrey! I love the powerful reminders you are sharing!

  3. Hi Jeff, I am not sure I know how to do this, but I will try…
    This is just beautiful! I was in awe as I read it. Keep on writing. It is amazing what Jesus has done for us, isn’t it? I loved your perspective and will be anxious to read more. Thanks for having Tomi send it to me!

Leave a Reply

