From one Father to another

I am a fearful person. I am not proud of this fact, as are most people who recognize their flaws. Now I am not as bad as I used to be and I work hard at being strong in the face of danger. Danger to myself: scary. Danger to my Family: unbearable. Next to my salvation, I have always considered the gift of my family as being God’s second greatest thing He has done for me. The best thing about these gifts is the fact that they often point to each other.

Earlier this week my daughter had some serious medical testing done. I wanted to be strong, I tried to be strong, but my heart caved in. Seeing my little girl on the x-ray bed, screaming and crying was more than I could bear. Sadly this was not the first time I had to witness one of my children in this kind of pain.

As I observed all this happening, I couldn’t help but wish that I could take this for her. I have thought this before when I have seen my kids sick or have to endure a pain that is necessary with growing up. I think most parents have felt the same. We know of One who did for sure:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son…

I have sat through a lot of sermons and read a lot of books, but as I saw my daughter in pain and wished it had been me, I finally understood why God did what He did. As a Father, He loves us, more than He loves Himself. Why else would He sacrifice His only Son for you and me?

This entry was posted in Lessons learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

