All Things Possible…

Yesterday I had a wake up call. Nearly 7 years ago I had to take a personality test for the agency I currently work for, I never saw the results, until that morning. My boss, God bless him, withheld most of its contents. I am sure he knew that it would have crushed my spirit to hear what it had revealed. Bottom line: it said I was unqualified in almost every way for the position I was applying for.

As I read the report, I couldn’t help but laugh a little and I’ll be honest: I had equal parts anger and sadness, as it tried to impress the fact that I was not the employee they were looking for. No experience and no real hope for a future. Fortunately God thought differently.

I can do all this through Him who gives me strength. — Philippians 4:13 NIV

I knew when I put in for this job that I was unqualified. I had no illusions of who I was. All I knew was that I wanted to try and give something back to the Lord I love.

I did not apply for the job because I wanted to be an artist or just happened to be looking for work. I applied because I wanted to serve Him. I wanted to put His interests before my own.  It was a leap of faith on my part and all I could say was, “Here I am Lord, I am ready to serve you.

I was very blessed, as the test had not affected the ministry’s decision to hire me. They had seen my heart and in my eyes, put just as much faith in God as I had, believing He could use me for purposes greater than my abilities would allow.

Today I am the Lead Designer for that ministry and I can truthfully say that although I went searching to fill His needs, He in return has filled mine. This report was a gift. Yesterday, I got see who I was and who I am now and although I have many feelings and thoughts about this, I feel Billy Graham said it best:

“. . .if anything has been accomplished through my life. it has been solely God’s doing,
not mine, and He—not I—must get the credit.”


This entry was posted in Lessons learned. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All Things Possible…

  1. Mike Litoruz says:

    Eager to please the lord – like a puppy dog.

  2. Rob says:

    I’m the guy who hired Jeff. If we would have always believed Worthington-Hurst, we would have missed some of our best hires. Jeff had more motivation and determination than anyone I’ve ever hired. He’s passionate about learning, growing and doing his best. Besides, the one job in my career that I was least qualified for is the job I enjoyed most!

  3. Shawn Manley says:

    Great read. Kudos to Rob for seeing what counts. Hire for attitude, train for skill.

Leave a Reply

