A big kid

Have you ever noticed how quickly children seem to forget when their friends have wronged them? It always amazes me when I see my own children and their cousins “duke it out” one minute and the next, play and laugh like nothing ever happened. Do you ever ask yourself, when as adults do we lose this incredible ability?

Jesus said in the book of Matthew, “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Now Jesus may have used this as part of a larger response to answer the disciples query of “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” But to me, it begs the question: what does it mean to be a child?

First: believe like a child
As a kid I remember going and seeing the movie Superman starring the late Christoper Reeve, causing me to truly believe that a man could fly. I never thought to question it, to me it was very real. But it was more than just Superman, it was Santa Claus, it was the Tooth fairy and it was my Grandpa magically pulling coins out of the air . . .  Now I know what you are thinking, none of that was real and you’re right. But my point is rediscover that child that had the ability to believe without question and put your faith in a God that will never let you down.

Second: forgive like a child
Like I mentioned earlier, kids have that awesome ability to forgive one another. They don’t pack grudges or remind each other of past wrongs. They move on. For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. — Matthew 6:14 NIV. That is the forgiviness God is looking for. Grace without strings.

We all have to get older, but we don’t all have to grow up.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A big kid

  1. Seth says:

    I can still remember watching the Superman movie when I was little too. Thanks for the reminder to take heart and forgive quickly. Good stuff, Jeffrey. Keep it up.

    • Tim says:

      Unconditional forgiveness. Good stuff! I got to hear a sermon by R.T. Kendall one time on forgiveness and immediately bought his book Total Forgiveness. The Superman reference, however, reminds me I’m no longer young. You remember Christopher Reeve – I remember George Reeves.

Leave a Reply

