A sacred pledge

8 years ago I made a promise. Some may call it a promise, others an oath or even a dedication. This promise was a sacred pledge between God and myself. It occured over a warm summer afternoon as I was reading Pastor Rick Warren’s: Purpose Driven Life. Reading through the chapters of his book, forced me to ask myself, “Am I making the most of my gifts?”

At the time, it had been almost 2 years since I graduated art school and I had yet to find my way in the world. I was given job opportunities in my field, trainings and even an apprenticeship, but nothing seemed to stick. It wasn’t until the moment that I asked the Lord “What do you need me to be?” that the aimless ship carrying my career received it’s rudder.

As I laid on the couch reading that day, it all started to make sense. God gave me these gifts, all gifts from God are good, therefore all gifts from God should be used for good . . . Bringing honor to Him. It seemed right, it felt right. That’s what my heart told me and there was scripture to back those feelings up.

Colossians 3:23 says, Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord…(NIV)

It was that moment that I realized my first calling and it was at our next Bible study that I publicly made my declaration: I will be a designer for Christ. I had pledged both my mind and my skills to help celebrate the glory of God. I wanted to use the talents that the Master had given me to spread the Good News of Jesus Christ.

In the 8 years since, I have tried to keep that promise. I have been a graphic designer for a marketing ministry, helped out local churches and even flirted with a couple of my personal artworks that would ring true to that call. But in my heart I have never really lived up to my own expectations in fulfilling my pledge to action.

This ongoing blog will be my first solid attempt to consciously make a difference in my own work. Actively telling the story of Jesus . . . His teachings. . . His sacrifice . . . and His risen glory. Not only will I be writing my musings each week, but the scope of my artwork shall become more of a reflection of the hope and promise we have in Him.

I want to personally invite you to come back to visit and share in this experience with me. Witness both my artistic and spiritual growth on this new road ahead as I fulfill an old promise to a faithful friend.

Thank you and God bless, Jeffrey

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A sacred pledge

  1. Robert Zawoysky says:

    Great stuff and beautifully written. I’ll be coming back for more.

  2. Andi Gowin says:

    Lovely…

  3. Al Doyle says:

    Jeffery, this is good stuff. You might want to start writing some of those appeals you design! You have a great ability to connect with a good story. — Al

Leave a Reply

